Toastandcupcakes.


sew, sew. sewing and pack, pack, packing.
November 16, 2006, 11:04 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I promised myself when I started this blog that I wouldn’t miss a day, because missing one day for me is like giving myself permission to miss a week! And I’ve just proven this to be true, I guess.
I’ve got a lot going on at the moment, as you all know. But I really do want to keep this up. So please keep up with the nagging e-mails : )
Dsc05383 Dsc05384 Dsc05385
I’ve spent the last few days doing the same things I’ve been doing for the last few weeks. Sewing and packing. I’ve made 7 tops and 5 skirts to send off to Wellington (Only one bow skirt left to make!), and we’ve packed a good portion of our stuff. I’ve started to clean the house, and we’ve started to organise paperwork etc.
Due to all the moving hustle, and the sewing rush I don’t really have much else to report. But luckily for you, my dear friend Helen (Of former stripy sock fame) has been sending me lovely e-mails with links to awesome sites and has inspired me to share some sites. So here are some neat things for you to look at while you wait for me to come up with something interesting to say. ha.

*http://lianakabel.blogspot.com//  Liana Kabel is one of my new favourite artists EVER. She makes the most delectable jewellery from things like tupperware. If you know anything about me, chances are you know that I collect tupperware (The mustard coloured set. ) and I think that these objects that Liana makes are just amazing.
*http://jolita.livejournal.com/514772.html Abraham found this site and I just can’t get over how adorable and how hilarious these images are. SO cute I just can’t decide which is the cutest.
*http://www.pukudesign.co.nz/ I would dearly love to be able to afford to kit Aesop out in these clothes. they’re incredibly styley and nz made!
http://www.soulshoes.co.nz/ Another nz made site. I love the shoes these people make. I’ve owned two pairs in my time and they last for a long, long time and they’re really comfy. and the best bit? They’re all considered unisex so they make ’em big enough for yetis like me!
http://www.sweetskins.com/html/hoodies.html I would really love on of these hoodies. They just look  so incredibly snuggly! and environmentally friendly to boot!
http://www.nutandbee.com/ Annette Lauder Is a beautiful source of lovely creative goodness. She’s a Auckland lass that makes paper products from her delightful illustrations.
http://www.danimdesigns.com/homewares.html These dinnerware sets from DaniM are really refreshing. They actually look handmade, and thats so cool. I’ve never really gotten excited over pottery or ceramics, but a set of these would make even me a little giddy!
http://www.chiahats.com/regular.htm I do not suit hats at all, I do okay in a bonnet, but not a regular hat. Although I sternly believe that if I have a chiahat it would look awesome. Because how could it not?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your sewing looks so great! Yummy colours, yummy skirts!

I hope the packing is progressing well. I’m amazed you can sew amongst the packing mess – you’re amazing!

Lovely linkages, too!
xx Helen

Comment by Helen

I’m impressed too, by your simultaneous sewing and packing action. Good luck- those tops look so great!

Comment by melissa

When we went to Brisbane I went to see Liana Kabel at the Brisbane Museum (she has a wee studio there). I was too shy to say we’d come all the way from NZ to see her beautiful jewellery, but I wish I had. She was actually the reason I decided on Brisbane for the trip.

I love all your pictures, they make me want to shopppppp.

Comment by Martha




Leave a Reply

