Toastandcupcakes.


Roughin’ it.
December 15, 2006, 12:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Couchbed
I’ve never been ‘poor’. Not really anyway.
When you grow up on ‘the hill’, in a four bedroom house with a swimming pool and two cars in the garage the level of ‘poor’ you reach in your life seems to be a whole different level than the people with other backgrounds.
‘If you called your dad he could stop it all -yeah.’
I’ve lived in a flat and eaten only tinned tomatoes and budget pasta for weeks on end. I’ve hitchhiked back and fourth because I couldn’t afford buses, I’ve washed my hair with soap for months at a time because shampoo was out of the budget. But I’ve never really be desperately, dirt, can’t-pay-the-rent poor. And any level of poor I’ve been was quite a few years ago now.
So it’s a bit of a shock to be back in whakatane having to have ’emergency’ assistance from winz to even buy groceries, and after a disagreement with abraham, having to now spend my nights sleeping on my couch after he stopped lending me his bed. But as ever we’re not starving, we won’t go homeless or have our services disconnected.

I’m so thankful to be so priviliged. It almost makes me wish we had more times like this, just to give me a reason to feel so thankful.

(sorry, I know I promised no super personal entries. But at the moment I’ve really not much else to talk about and blogging is such a nice relief of some thoughts.)

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Don’t apologise! It’s good to know what’s going on with you – no point pretending to be happy if things are ‘challenging’ at the moment.

I hope things improve! Thinking of you.

xx Helen

Comment by Helen

Yep, I fully agree wth Helen. And I’m thankful for your thoughtful reminder to be glad. I try to remind myself that if I lived in the United States I would have used up my welfare entitlement long ago, I’d be working several crappy, badly paid jobs, and my children would be latchkey kids. As it stands we have a lovely, if somewhat ramshackle and fallng down, home, we have food in our cupboards, I pick the children up from school, and this year I even have money for some nice presents for the kids.

And with such lovely bedlinens that sofa does look cosy!

xx

Comment by rachael

oh my poor sweet toast
you are so divine and so wonderful and so lovely you fully do not deserve the world of sleeping on a sofa.
I’m so glad you did do hp on the computer so you have a world to escape into

Comment by sue

I agree with Helen – we’re here to listen!
Thinking of you too!

Comment by Rachelle

no need to apologize dear… please don’t feel as though you have to act like all is fine if it’s not. it sounds as though you have a remarkably healthy perspective about what’s happening, even as it’s really hard… thinking of you, and sending a big hug.

Comment by amisha




Leave a Reply

