Toastandcupcakes.


Tops and skirts.
January 9, 2007, 10:09 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Prototypeskirt Prototypeskirt1

I’ve been sewing! Well.. sort of. Mostly I’ve been brainstorming. I’ve been thinking about patterns I can alter and blocks I would have to try and make to get what I want.
My mind is still basically on the track it was on last time I mentioned the possibility of a show.
Do you mind if I let it babble over a little? :

I’m thinking skirts with inserts, similar to the one above, but in bright wools and linens, with more draping bright patterned fabric in the insert. I’m also thinking of really detailed machine appliqued plant life creeping up the side of the insert. (Although that might be too much?)
I’m thinking gloriously mismatched ever-so-slightly cropped hooded tops in hounds tooth and plain knits with ribbing bands and extra long cuffs.
I’m thinking little bloomer type shorts with ribbing bands, also in bright linen and wool, over bright coloured leggings. with big vintage button details.
I’m thinking relatively plain long sleeve tops in duller colours. Perhaps with matching super long cuffs, or with the super detailed plant life appliques, but in patterned fabric.
I’m still thinking over-sized sound of music type bags. With really big stained wooden handles.
I don’t think any of these things will fit together in any sort of theme, or collection. Perhaps they’ll fit together because they’ve all come out of my crazy head? Either way. I should really get to work!

Now for the tops part:
Stripey_v_top Greenblackvtop
I’ve made seven tops so far to send to dandylion. I graded my pattern so now they range from about a size 10 to a 16. I’ve had a few people e-mail me asking about the possibility of buying one outside of dandylion, and well here’s your chance (although I’ll email you tonight rach.).
I’m a little low of fabric colour choices, but if you’d like a top like this, and we can come to some sort of agreement on fabric, then  I’d love to make you one, (and sell it to you at the wholesale price.). Just let me know and I’ll fill you in on what fabrics I have available. (and measurements of sizing if you need them!).

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

so cute… and the plans for the collection sound wonderful! yes yes yes to the appliqued plant life… not too much at all i think! can’t wait to see what you put together.
hugs!

Comment by amisha

I want one of every single thing in that collection. I once saw, on a blog or other website, reallt cool knitted tops with mismatched sleeves…sounds a bit odd but they were delicious. (I’ll try and remember the link). And I adore bloomers.

I’m glad you’re in a good productive space and the sewing is going well. I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

(I can only receive emails at the moment, not send. It’s really frustrating because I’m not sure how to fix it.)

xx

Comment by rachael

gorgeous work, Rhiannon. Youve been busy. I love the sound of your new collection- especially the plant life appliques- can’t wait to see them!

Comment by melissa

Sounds fantastic! You are soooooooooo clever!!!!!! Can’t wait to see the collection!

Comment by Rachelle

Those bags sound great. Are you thinking of the big carpet bag that Mary Poppins had? There are (not so great) pictures of it here: http://movies.yahoo.com/movie/1800093913/photo/stills
I love that movie!

Comment by julia

Love the new items. Plantlife belongs on clothing…keep it up! Please e-mail when you get a chance about your lovely T-shirts we need some here in NJ (US)!!

All the best in your new diggs, it’s coming along nicely.
Jess-

Comment by Jessica




Leave a Reply

