Toastandcupcakes.


rhubarb!
February 2, 2007, 11:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I haven’t really done any baking since getting to Whakatane, mostly because I would eat it all myself.
In Nelson I would bake huge batches of things, take out just a few biscuits or muffins, and send Abraham to work with the rest. It won me a ‘best morning tea’ award (haha), and it meant I didn’t have to fight myself to stay out of the cupboards!
But the overgrowth of Rhubarb in my little side garden meant it was time to bite the bullet and bake up a little storm.
Rhubarb Mixture Muffins
I googled and found a recipe for rhubarb and Pecan muffins’. I didn’t chop the pecans quite small enough, it could do with more rhubarb, and my ‘generous’ topping of sugar and cinnamon was perhaps a little too generous, but they turned out quite edible.
Here’s the recipe in case any of you also have a mountain if rhubarb:
INGREDIENTS:
2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup chopped pecans
1 large egg, beaten
1/4 cup oil
2 teaspoons grated orange peel
3/4 cup orange juice
1 1/4 cup rhubarb, chopped
PREPARATION:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (177 degrees celcius!).
Mix dry ingredients. Mix wet ingredients. Pour wet into dry and mix quickly.

Fill well-greased muffin pans three-quarters full. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

Now quick! To take them to Mum’s work before I scoff them all!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

these sound so good… rhubarb doesn’t grow here 😦 very sad as e loves it… i had never had it till he told me about it!
i empathize with the large quantities of baked goods “problem” too. i’ve started halving recipes, but sometimes bring them to work too and distribute. we always feel a bit guilty if the two of us manage to scarf down a whole cake (though it does happen quite often…)
hugs
amisha

Comment by amisha




Leave a Reply

