Toastandcupcakes.


Raining goodness.
February 16, 2007, 12:53 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s unusual for me to post twice in one day, but I just had to show you what the thrift gods gifted me this morning! Ohhh my.
80sme Vintageglasses
The goodness that the store was raining had a very 80’s theme to it today. I managed to nab four pairs of amazing retro glasses (two very 80’s and two perhaps a little older) and as you can see.. an stone wash denim jacket. Alas I don’t think I’ll hang onto it, it will be embellished with appliques and will probably accompany me to Craft2.0.

Linen1 Strawbag
Also in my sweaty little hands were these amazing tablecloths (it seems everyone in Whakatane it getting ride of their never-been-used vintage Australian tablecloths! weird!), a piece of pure wool, a cute little pink bucket and an amazing, quite 50’s little straw handbag. My mum bought a slightly bigger one of these in an antique store in Nelson last year for almost six times the price!

Photoalbum Tacks
Also: two photoalbums in perfect, perfect condition with amazing vinyl covers, and cardboard frame type pages, and a very old looking box of little gold paper fasteners. I have so many ideas for these.

And last but not least, this book:
Kiwianabook1 Kiwianabook
A gorgeous book about all the things New Zealanders know and love. It’s got some lovely old pictures and I’m going to put it in the reading basket in the ‘guest toilet’ so hopefully it’ll actually get read!

And the best bit? All this (and a few little bits which are being sent to other lovelies..) cost me less
than one pair of the sunglasses would have on Trade me! I love you sweet thrift gods!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good scores indeed – esp. very cute sunglasses. I wish I could wear sunglasses – sucks being a speccie.

Nice to talk to you a little last night. Hope this weekend is good for you.

xx Helen

Comment by Helen

You will, of course, plunder the book for images to use in your crafting first.

I’ve been wanting to do something with the 4 square man for a while…

(tee hee)

Comment by The Shopping Sherpa

You should keep the jacket – it looks fab on!
Can’t wait to see you at Craft 2.0!

Comment by Rachelle

you are so cute!
great thrift scores… i’m intrigued by the new zealand book!
hugs
amisha

Comment by amisha

oh my god so you live in Whakatane? I’m in England and a VERY good friend of mine moved there three years ago and I miss her terribly… is it a big place? do you know her? Emma… married to Will, three adorable kids?

What an amazing coincidence!!

Comment by monica

oh my god so you live in Whakatane? I’m in England and a VERY good friend of mine moved there three years ago and I miss her terribly… is it a big place? do you know her? Emma… married to Will, three adorable kids?

What an amazing coincidence!!

Comment by monica




Leave a Reply

