Toastandcupcakes.


A day of grieving.
April 5, 2007, 11:37 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Newstudio3_2
My sweet, loyal, friend-of-many-years sewing machine has finally given up on me completely. Her stitches no longer form as they should, her pedal no longer gives her the power she needs, and basically, she’s sewn her last stitch.
I knew this was on the cards, but of course that never makes it any easier.
As you know, I bought another identical machine not too long ago, but alas, it turns out I was sold a bit of a dud. I took them both into the shop to be looked at, and the service guy told me that there was no point, they couldn’t get parts for machines so old, and chances are the other machine was sold because the owner was told it was close to giving up. So it is time for me to move on.
I hope you don’t mind if I say a few words, and we share a moment of silence.
I’ll miss you sweet Janome. You’re older than I am, by quite some years and you’ve lived a very full life. You served my mother well, and you’ve served me well.
You were my first sewing machine, and I couldn’t have asked for better.
You’ve made me what is probably thousands of dollars, and you’ve shared a lot of my blood, sweat and tears. I’m very grateful, and very thankful for your service. I’ll never forget you.
Rest in peace my friend.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Rest in peace Rhiannon’s sewing machine, sorry to hear that they’ve both died. Just remember everything happens for a reason and it will all work out in the end! Was just over at dayglo days and saw you wore the red dress from me! You look so good in it and glad to see it is being used instead of gathering dust. Best of luck sorting out a new sewing machine.

Comment by Kirsty

Janome, you will be missed. and you had a funny name.

well godspeed on your project, are you going to hand sew?

Honest Abe is melting my heart with his secret round town messages to you!
-kimberlee

Comment by kimberle and Lies

My condolences. You will find love once again, I’m sure. All my best, Judi

Comment by Judi

My sewing machine is about to ‘live’ the same faith, I know how you feel…
My condolences.

Comment by M%n

so sori to hear about your sad news

Comment by jen




Leave a Reply

