Toastandcupcakes.


The great music rampage of 2007 begins.
July 10, 2007, 10:57 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

July07musiclist
My downloading spree started this morning!
I’ve worked my way through most of the list of suggestions, downloading two or so songs from each artist, and giving them a cross for no, or a big circle if I’m going to download more of them.
I thought I’d keep you updated, as a few of you mentioned you might interested in some new music yourselves.
(I must have a bit of a disclaimer though: music is a very, very personal thing. I don’t want anyone to be offended in anyway that I didn’t really love their suggestions, okay? We like what we like, and that’s what makes us lovely.)
Okay, so here is my shortlist so far (with links to sonicx.com where you can download a song or two):
Beirut
Of Montreal
Andrew Bird
Feist
(ooooh soo gooood)
Calexico
Iron & wine
Hayden
Joshua Radin
Jamie Cullum
The slackers
Belle & sebastian
Bloc party
The kaiser chiefs
Catpower
Page france (also amazingly nice.)
The kinks

I still have a few to go, and some I’m getting on disc from Abraham, but these bands are definitely all on the "get more" list! I’m so, so excited to be getting new music, I only have about 700 songs on my creative player (and of course I only ever feel like listening to about half of them) and listening to them over and over and over gets a bit dull…This week is going to be goooood.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

well I never
went and had at that nz blog site and who should I find interviewed there but you my friend
good interview my friend

enjoy your day 🙂

Comment by jen

Ummm…… you can never ever go wrong with the Counting Crows! Adam Duritz’s writing is amazing and has such a unique voice with a poetic & creative style. I vote for the Crows. Try these to start off with:

1. Black and Blue
2. Anna Begins
3. Butterfly in Reverse

These are just two of my favorites! (Actually, I haven’t heard one I haven’t loved yet!)

And…… where’s the interview?

Comment by Judi

you could add some Sam Prekop, Archer Prewitt or their band Sea & Cake. Tortoise is good instrumental stuff as well.(I like like pretty much anything from the Thrill Jockey label out of Chicago.) Calexico is one of my favs, reminds me of living in Tucson, AZ. well enjoy all of your new ear-candy!

Comment by jess

i am in the midst of doing the EXACT same thing. my boyfriend and i are moving out to iowa from new york and i am making a soundtrack for the trip…we should swap playlists!

Comment by carrie

Love Love Love Feist – I can’t wait to see her at the end of the summer at McCarren Park Poool. She is so amazing in concert.

Comment by Jessica

mmmm i love the feeling of getting great new music!
thanks for the links! i’m definitely going to be checking out some of those artists!
enjoy your music-filled week!!

Comment by Cat

Downloading some X perhaps???

Comment by Gina Lee

Downloading some X perhaps???

Comment by Gina Lee

Downloading some X perhaps???

Comment by Gina Lee

What?!?! No M.O.P?
Sad bro. Sad.

Comment by abraham

If you love Feist, you’ll love Arcade Fire….
O Canada!

🙂
Lisa

Comment by Lisa Thiessen

If you like Feist and Cat Power, you might like Broken Social Scene, STARS, or Neko Case, too.

Comment by Erin




Leave a Reply

