Toastandcupcakes.


photomania.
July 25, 2007, 4:07 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Part one:

Nickandmegrass1
My weekend in Hamilton was lovely.
(I didn’t take any pictures for some reason.. so this one is an oldy.)
I stayed with my dear, dear friend Nick whom I love to pieces.
He’s one of the oddest people I have ever met, and one of the loveliest too.
Nick lives in an old house all by himself. The walls are covered in band posters, song lists from shows, newspaper clippings, pictures of frogs and old coffee sacks.
His pet parrot (or is it a parakeet? lorikeet? I forget. Sorry.) Jacob has his very own room, and another room is dedicated to ‘dining’ but contains glass tanks full of frogs and shelves full of books.
Nick, for reasons unbeknown to me never shuts his doors and windows until he goes to bed. It can be freezing and the doors and windows will stay open until very late in the evening. It takes a fair amount to haggling to get the heater on too. He has a fridge, freezer and multiple pantries FULL of food. He could feed Hamilton in the case of a civil defence emergency. His fridge alone has twelve blocks of cheese in it. And I mean just regular cheese, he also has fancy cheeses.
But all that food doesn’t go to waste. Nick is also one of the most amazing cooks I’ve encountered. He won’t let anyone help him prepare food (I’m allowed to stir things occasionally..) and will rarely even let someone else do the dishes, but he makes the most wonderful things. I was treated to roast capsicum and pumpkin risotto with capers, penne and broccoli with a delightful spicy currant sauce, poached eggs on crumpets, two different types of muffins, blackberry pie, crystallised strawberries… mm.
It was a relaxing weekend and not much was done as such. Catching up with friends, pottering around. and a little shopping.

July07woodenbowl July07newring
July07knittedjumperandcushion July07pyrex

These are my favourite things I bought. The wooden bowl was from the recycle centre, the ring from a cheap accessory shop (it was $1!) and the knitted things and new Pyrex were found on the road trip home with my sweet Rachel.
It was such a nice weekend, and such a lovely drive home with Rachie, I had forgotten how amazing it was to be around friends, to be able to relax and be yourself and to be liked and laugh so hard. It’s been quite hard work to come back to Whakatane, the the last week has been a bit of a challenge.

Part two:

It’s been a week of tiredness due to neither myself of Aesop sleeping very well. It’s been a week of struggling with my internet addiction and failing, and struggling with eating well and failing miserably.
But we’re pulling through. I’ve done a little crafting which I’ll photograph on a sunnier day, and we’ve spent a lot of time playing with our new lego (thank you Belinda!) and watching Maisy. We’ve been dressing up (Aesop has a ‘thing’ for funny hats and glasses at the moment..) and we’ve been savouring the happy moments.

July07newlego July07grubbywithmask

I’ve been doing a healthy amount of oppshopping (thrifting..) and have had some absolutely incredible finds, including today’s lovely lovely fabric haul! For the price of less than one barkcloth curtain on trademe (boo!) I found not one, but four absolutely gorgeous barkcloth curtains with very little fading, in super great condition (see the third picture..mm), four different gorgeous other pieces of fabric, a few strips of floral annnnnd two half made skirts in my size! So good. It’s amazing what the thrift gods and goddesses send to cheer a girl up on grey day when her overtired, tantrum-filled two-and-a-half year old is screaming loud enough to have people come out of the shops to see what’s going on.

July07fabrichaul1 July07fabrichaul July07fabrichaulcurtain

So with that I’m off again!

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Pleased you had a nice time in hami
yum what a meal and what a cook youir friend is

The wooden bowl is lovely
wtg on that ring
what a neat jumper

Lego is fun isnt it
Daniel likes hats and shoes even if they arent his!!! 🙂

Take care 🙂 hugs

Comment by jen

OMG – that jumper with the robot on it! FANTASTIC!!!!
Glad to hear you had a good time away….
now show us some crafting, lady!!!
xxxx

Comment by paper.string.cloth

So happy to see you back….. even if for a moment! Guess what I got in the mail today!!! My beautiful, beautiful ball bag! It’s more than I could have asked for……. you are way better than you give yourself credit for! When you get the time…… make some more hoodies or offer them on your blog…. Etsy or whatever. It’ll be getting cool here in a few months and that needs to be my next purchase from Toast Clothing!

And, man…… the chocolate!! I can’t figure up the points with the differences between calories and energy. How many points are these unbelievale Pineapple Lumps? You know, the bag that I’ve already eaten half of! (The orange sticks are for when I have a moment to myself…… and don’t need to share!).

I’m totally pleased with my new bag and have already placed my purse belongings into it and plan to take it to a class on Saturday where I get to make an apron and trade cookies. They’re gonna be so jealous! I’ve added this to my blog!!

I’m almost done with your goodies…..

Comment by Plumtickled

Hey,
cherish yr weekend memories, sweeties and savouries
don’t worry sometimes you gotta munch
cherish the little moment when yr wee one kisses you
(n between a tantie, oh I know, oh oh)
a bit of bloggin’-s-ok, hey?
stroke the fabric and the knitted goodies
can`t wait to see yr new hoodies (?)

Hee hee, I made it rhyme!
Lies (anemonecrafts – sneeking this comment secretely in from work, shhhh)

Comment by Lies

I’m SO glad you had a nice break and I love your rose ring.

That robot jersey is AWESOME and it would’ve been really hard to knit, too!

xx Helen

Comment by Helen

bit off topic, but i bought some pineapple lumps after reading that and i’m like OMGWTF they are sooooo nice. You are so right, Rhubarb, we take them for granted.

Yay @ you updating. I will update my site on Monday.

Love you.

Comment by abraham

I want the pink ring! I wanna! I wanna! Darn it, now I have to search for one : )

Comment by esther

sounds like your time away was necessary, and you sure scored some good finds. I also covet your rose ring. 🙂

hope you have been getting some better sleep. I know what its like not be able to fall asleep or stay asleep. lately ear plugs have helped me.

-kimberlee

Comment by kimberlee

sounds like your time away was necessary, and you sure scored some good finds. I also covet your rose ring. 🙂

hope you have been getting some better sleep. I know what its like not be able to fall asleep or stay asleep. lately ear plugs have helped me.

-kimberlee

Comment by kimberlee

sounds like your time away was necessary, and you sure scored some good finds. I also covet your rose ring. 🙂

hope you have been getting some better sleep. I know what its like not be able to fall asleep or stay asleep. lately ear plugs have helped me.

-kimberlee

Comment by kimberlee

Hey there
I have been reading(and loving) your blog for awhile now. I know that you are rarely on these days, but I thought i’d still tag you none the less.

So..Im TAGGING you!

Comment by Nina

so glad you had a great time in hamilton! we have been living on cheese sandwiches over here for a week and while that is lovely, your hamilton menu has me drooling 🙂
and your thrift karma is amazing!!! i love, love that blue floral fabric. love.
hope things are getting easier with aesop and you both are getting some good sleep my dear.
xo

Comment by amisha




Leave a Reply

