Toastandcupcakes.


The Next Best Thing (or how I learnt to love guest posts until the Rhiannon came [back])
August 17, 2007, 1:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Bubbles Cheese Danandabe Drawing_2 Robot Sleepy_2

Hello Toastandcupcakes fans! You may or may not know me – my name is Abraham Larsen.

I have been given the honour of writing an update for this wonderful blog. If you’re anything like me, you check out toastandcupcakes hoping for an update. If there’s one thing you can say about Rhiannon it’s that she is one busy mama. I’m telling you; from the first ‘peep’ of a bird in the morning until the last ‘brrrrr’ of a cricket at night – she is flat tack getting things done. Whether it’s creating some new Toast magic or building an over-sized Lego tower – she’s always busy as a beaver. Because of this, her updates have been few and far between and as I mentioned earlier – I have been given the honour of keeping you all going until she has time to update.

First, a little about myself: I’m 25 years old and live in a beautiful town called Whakatane in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand. I enjoy creating music, riding on trains with my son Aesop, spending time with my extended family, dreaming of the future, getting ready for parties and looking up movies on imdb.com. I have one brother and one sister, both older. I have one beautiful and clever son who can rap better than I can, already. I collect records, robot figurines, vintage t-shirts and credit card debts. I also like shoes, trying to get more comments on my wardrobe remix photos than Rhiannon and soy hot chocolates.

Now that we know eachother a bit better, I hope to get to know you too. Through the magic of technology you can comment on this update or blog entry and tell me things about yourself. Maybe one thing. Maybe you like ‘Mr Mallow’ marshmallows? Maybe you could tell me your favourite coloured m&m? Or maybe your favourite character on ‘The Big Lebowski’?

OK, so let’s get down to brass tacks. I have posted up some photos of my weekend last weekend.

I like to think of myself as quite an anti-social guy. I was born into the sign of the bull so I’m a home person. I like to stay at home and make music and really shy away from going out and/or being drunk in a room full of strangers. But something about this winter has just turned it all on it’s head. I’ve been enjoying meeting people, catching up with old friends and mixing with the community at large. It’s been a splendid time.

Anyways, this last weekend I went to a family-orientated 21st at our local hot springs, then on to a joint birthday bash at a friend’s cafe. Both events were really special for a lot of different reasons. But when it all boils down – there was one reason why they both rocked the casbah, and that’s because I got to share these times with friends, family and most importantly – Rhiannon & Aesop.

So, take a look at the photos. If I’m right, there are captions and explainations if you go to my flickr page. Check it out.

I just realised that I have to go back to work and I have four hours to sign off two MAJOR projects. Unfortunately I can’t share all the amazing thoughts I had in mind. But, with your permission and Rhiannon’s, maybe I can post again.

Until next time Toast fans, have a safe and fun-filled weekend.

And as my old school principal used to say; "Kia Kaha, Kia Manawanui".

Chur,

Abraham.

PS: I usually post here.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Abraham
We are both bulls my birthday is the 18th of May
when yours
give my love to Rhiannon I miss her
how are all her plans going
Ive been thinking a lot about that the last few days
hope you all have a wonderful weekend

Comment by jen

hey there abraham! nice to meet ya : )

Comment by leslie

Woo Hoo! She is still alive!
Thanks for the update, Abraham…..
I want to know more about that COCKTAIL HAT Rhiannon appears to be wearing!
Get ya Tricia Royal on, girl!

take care…

Leah xxx

(ps: Abraham? I have a mortal aversion to the colour pink……)

Comment by paper.string.cloth

Hi Abraham, Nice to meet you. Let’s see…I like blackberry pie, blackberry-coloured yarn, but not those stupid Blackberry things that seem to be running the world.

Say hi to Rhiannon for us – we miss her.
Claudia

P.S. Aesop is sweet as! Good on yer!

Comment by Claudia

hello! it’s nice to hear from you and to know rhiannon is well if very busy.

one interesting fact about me is that i’m really, really terrible at thinking of interesting facts or deciding what my favorite anything is. when faced with that kind of question i tend to immediately forget even the most important things in my life.

of course, i will hit “post” now and immediately think of several interesting facts.

Comment by karen

how handy that you are assisting R with the blog. Thanks for the update, ho hum. not much brewing here, except I discovered my favorite flower this week: blossoms. being not much of a flower/garden person, that’s as specific as I get. 🙂

have a good one and tell R to take care.

-kimberlee

Comment by kimberlee

how handy that you are assisting R with the blog. Thanks for the update, ho hum. not much brewing here, except I discovered my favorite flower this week: blossoms. being not much of a flower/garden person, that’s as specific as I get. 🙂

have a good one and tell R to take care.

-kimberlee

Comment by kimberlee

Hello, my name is Kimberley Jane Rothwell and I’m a blogaholic. I just finished a story for work, so I’m just taking a break by catching up with my favourite girls (and boys now too!) and seeing what they’ve been up to. My favourite colour is red and I am 17 weeks pregnant with my first, and perhaps only wee ‘un. I like to eat fizzy lollies and drink more cups of tea than you can shake a stick at even though (yawn) people tell me caffeine is bad for the baby. If they knew how weak I have my tea, they wouldn’t have a problem with it. Anyway, I’m rambling. I love Crown Lynn, glass beads, children’s books from the 60s, my nephew Sweeney, handwritten letters in the mail, my boyfriend ringing me up for no reason at all, and have recently discovered the rainbow lorikeet – the world’s most fun bird. I believe that kangaroos aren’t real, that I was a lorikeet in a past life, and that the best cure for jetlag is staying up really really late.
All my best to R – and hope to see more of her soon. K xx

Comment by kimberley

Hi there A, R & A,

Long time blog stalker, first time commenter. Commentor? Hrmmm.
Anyway, love the post. Love the blog.
I’m Nikki from Wellington, with The Devil Child.
I’m new to the crafty scene but have quickly become addicted to this blogging business.
I’m also from Rotorua originally. Not far from you guys. If you’ve not already, take some candles to Soda Springs. Do it at night tho, as the slime in the daytime is pretty gross. Ignorance is bliss.

Right, enough garbage. I’ll be back.

Nikki

Comment by Nikki

i liked your post abraham. i am an avid reader of rhiannons blog, she is such a neat lady! one thing about me: i have a penchant for leo sayer. i just can’t help it!

Comment by kelly




Leave a Reply

