Toastandcupcakes.


August 27, 2007, 3:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

August07dressups Patchworkhellototebagfront_2 August07track

Someone told me recently that I shouldn’t worry about not updating my blog all the time, and that I shouldn’t fret about coming back and apologising for all the un-replied comments and the lack of explanations of where I’ve been. That it’s my blog and that you’ll all just be happy to hear from me. I really hope she’s right because I’ve thought so long and hard the last few weeks of things to say that I’ve not been able to find anything at all. And by leaving it so long I’ve worried about where to start it all again, and how on earth I’d catch up on comments and e-mails. And I’ve become almost afraid of writing on my own site. Silly lady.

So without further ado, I’m going to tell you what is going on in my life lately. A mini catch-up of sorts.

I’ve been being easy on myself.
My last post I was stressing out. I was feeling like my life was slipping through my fingers and I was going to wake up 60 and having achieved nothing at all. I was having one of those weeks where nothing I was doing was good enough and everything was hopeless and pointless and I just sought direction.
But you know what? I’m 22. I’ve realised now that even if I wait until Aesop is at school to do something, other than mothering and living, full-time, I will still only be 25 and younger than alot of people are when they start out. I’ve realised I’m pretty bloody lucky to be in a position where I can be on a benefit and spend my time with Aesop and doing the other things I need/want to be doing and that I should make the most of Aesop while he is young, because although he drives me up right up the wall a lot of the time, it’s not going to be long before he’s all grown up. Cliche, I know, but so true.

Yeah, I’ve been taking it easy. I’ve been lapping up all the good moments I can get and not feeling guilty about the moments I spend relaxing. I’ve trying to focus on all the things I do get done in a day rather than the things I don’t. I’m not stressing out about the fact I’ve almost certainly let my course pass me by, and have realised I bit of much more than I could chew in one small year. I’ve come to peace with the fact that some days I don’t feel like sewing, or I don’t find the time, and that’s okay. I’ve never been able to be okay with these sorts of things before and it’s so refreshing. I’m so cheesy today, but I really feel like I have a whole new lease on life. Thanks counselling! Perhaps you’re not such a load of rubbish after all. hah.

That said, I have been doing a little bit of sewing. I’m working on a batch of hoodies for my Etsy page (I’m not going to give you a day that they’ll be done though, I’m taking my time.) and have about 10 ready to applique, and quite a few more on the way. I’ve uploaded the last of the batch of bags I made a few weeks ago (although bags are the ‘in’ thing to make it seems and I’m pretty sure mine will just get lost in the sea of others..) and I’m just plodding through.
*I’m desperately short of sweat-shirting and fleece and ribbing though.. so if anyone has any they don’t want, or finds any thrifting (pieces 1.5 metres and bigger for the sweat-shirting/fleece) I’ll more than happily reimburse you!*

Okay that’ll do for now. I’ll try to be back in a day or two to let you know what else has been happening!

But first I’d like to thank you for your kind comments and welcoming loveliness towards Abraham, I’m hoping he’ll update a bit more often round these parts. Hope y’all don’t mind. Thanks for being choice Abraham! And also thanks for being patient everyone. Thank you all for being choice too!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Im SO HAPPY 🙂 to hear from you 🙂
LOVE the photos
have a good week my friend 🙂

Comment by jen

Me and Rach will keep our eyes peeled for stretchy fabrics for you!

Glad to hear you are happier and doing good.

xx Helen

Comment by Helen

You’re only 22?? Cripes – time to cut yourself some slack. You’re doing beautifully. And you’ve got one of the best blogs around…

Comment by Michelle

Glad you’re feeling happier. I often feel like that at the moment (I’m 24, graduated last year), that life is slipping away from me and I’m missing all sorts of opportunities. But really I know I just need to give myself a break! And I think its good to know other people are in the same boat, glad you are feeling good about life today and reminding me that I should too 🙂

Comment by sarah

HOoray…. you’re back! It’s so nice to read how you’re doing and seeing it’s all well!

I am also glad you’re giving yourself a break…….. it’s hard to do that as I’m hard on myself as well and I think I need to heed some of your advice myself!

To start off with being nicer to myself….. I visited your Etsy shop! It’s mine…… all mine!

I can’t wait to see your hoodies….. WHEN YOU GET THEM FINISHED….. Don’t do like me and kill your self stressing over time and how you have to keep to some sort of schedule. I wish I could go back in time and relax a bit…….. I’ll just live my twenties through you and be happy for you!

That boy of yours….. Aesop….. is a riot! What a silly one with those get ups! I love it!

Stay in touch and enjoy your time. Do what you feel you can do without too much stress just as you said! So nice!

Comment by judi

choice update rhubarb! glad you are back. and like i said, that bag is amazing! aesop is cute and snotty. and i think you’re making the right decision. i’m really really proud of you.

s-s-s-s-s-soul mate UNIT!

Comment by abraham

hey there
so glad to hear that you are doing well. your new found peace of mind is evident, its nice of you to be nice to yourself! And ten hoodies ready on top of it! smiles.

-kimberlee

Comment by kimberlee

so nice to have you back. i loved abraham’s posts too though. he’s a sweet one- we miss you three.
good to hear you’re feeling happy and calm. love those bags! xx

Comment by melissa




Leave a Reply

