Toastandcupcakes.


Un-fair and pretty darn cute.
October 13, 2007, 8:37 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Octoberfairhaul
Last Saturday we got up very early, well early for a Saturday. We got dressed and breakfasted and made it out the door just in time. We rushed down to the war memorial hall, where the annual parish fair was meant to be. But alas, it turned out the newspaper had the wrong date.
So this morning we did it all again.
We were there at 8:45, ready for the opening at 9:30 (we were told it really was an incredible fair and I would be blown away.). We were pretty much first through the door. I was excited, I was keen, I was ready with my cash-ola. But no.
It was so, so bitterly disappointing. No clothing, very little of everything else, and the very worst part? The little old ladies had used all of the incredible, drool-worthy vintage fabric to make potholders, aprons and pet blankets (?). There weren’t even records or sewing patterns.
To top it all off I got the wrong change on one of my purchases leaving me $10 out of hand, and they had the nerve to charge me $3 for two measly little asparagus rolls, which a screaming Aesop refused to eat.
I left with a total haul of: One retro kids curtain, a stack of 70’s burdas, a beaded bag and some books for Aesop. And much too little money.

October07aesopkoro_2

Luckily after that we had lunch with Mum and Dad, followed by them relieving me of my child minding duties for a few hours, and all was a little better.

I’m very stressed, and tired. Big changes are a-foot in my world and it’s hard not to let them take a big toll on my body and mind. I’m doing my very best. I’m keeping choc-a-block full of rhubarb and apple crumble, listening to loads of Alela Diane (ohhh you neeeed to hear her. I just bought her cd.) and trying to focus on the positives. I’ll get there. ❤

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yep, you will get there. And those Burda patterns look fantastic.

Comment by Megan

Bummer about the fair but it looks like you got a few goodies anyway. Is your boy getting cuter and cuter?

Hope you have a fantastic day tomorrow.

Comment by jasmine

Gosh…Aesop is starting to look grown up…like a proper little guy…he is sooo cute!

By the way…please, please email me your address sweetie…I want to send you that X cd I promised you.

hugs x

Comment by Gina Lee

bugger.

nothing worse than a crap sale. Some lady (bless her) at my local op shop makes simply dreadful pet blankets and pot holders out of the best fabric in the place. Such a pity!

I hope you feel better soon – just don’t forget to breathe……

love to you

xxx

Comment by Leah

Bless your parents

yum rhubarb and apple crumble

Comment by jen

U will get there keep leaning on God

Comment by jen

Just caught up on all your posts of late – hang in there, from what I know of you you are talented strong resourceful woman! With the cutest wee son in the world!!!!! Thinking of you. Rxx

Comment by Rachelle

some people just have no idea that we would rather pay more for the uncut fabric than made into a potholder. Silly people.

Comment by Steph

alll the best for these big changes. we’re thinking of you down here! xx

Comment by melissa

aesop was super cute this weekend.
sorry about the fair. $3 for asparagus rolls? getouttahere.

Comment by abraham

oh its those little things that get us so down. Sorry the fair was a dissapointment, I feel like that with most of the op shops around here. I make such a big effort to go with little pay off.

IS that your dad? what a kind looking man.

_kimberlee

Comment by kimberlee

oh its those little things that get us so down. Sorry the fair was a dissapointment, I feel like that with most of the op shops around here. I make such a big effort to go with little pay off.

IS that your dad? what a kind looking man.

_kimberlee

Comment by kimberlee

I’m jealous of your Burda mags 🙂

Comment by nichola




Leave a Reply

