Toastandcupcakes.


April 24, 2008, 8:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Dsc02405

Dsc02393

Dsc02392

Dsc02408

My grand plans for the week have unfortunately been a little mislaid due to Aesop’s case of the pox and his subsequent time off from preschool (or work as he would have you call it.) I had hoped to get some serious sewing done, and have another lot of things listed by this weekend, but it’s looking more and more like it’ll have to be before next weekend. These things happen, huh?
The poxed boy seems to be feeling just fine though. The itching is yet to start and the mood is fairly chipper for someone so spotty. And I’m pleased to report we’ve done pretty darn well stuck inside together the last two days which would normally have been spent apart. We’re both such strong personalities that it doesn’t take much time for us to drive each other completely nutty.
I have, however, managed to cut out another pile of the (very successful! thank you!) brooches, and nearly finish two cardigan/hoodie hybrids. And of course post off the piles of orders I received after the last update. I’m very humbled by how much interest there is in my work at the moment. Thank you!
A few said things occurred yesterday though. My trip to the post office was the final straw for me, and I had to give in and put up my postage prices after ending up $15 out of pocket once everything was sent. I despise the fact I have to charge such ridiculous prices, but I really just don’t have any choice. I hope people understand.
And the other sad thing? I realised I’m running out of cotton, and felt and that I need a blind hemming foot for my machine. Not the end of the world, right? Yeah.. except when you look into how much these things cost, and how much they’ve gone up in the short time since I last bought felt and thread! Shivers!
Looks like I’ll be buying a lotto ticket this weekend.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m so pleased that you’re making more of those brooches – the one I really, really wanted was gone by the time I made it to your shop!
I’ll be in super quick next time….
Supplies can be super expensive – especially when you’re running a business that lives underneath that line where you get to buy everything wholesale – I was so shocked when I ran my clothing business how cheap everything was wholesale- it’s totally worth registering as a business just for that price cut, even if it’s just for small things…. I’m not sure how it works in NZ, but here anyone can register as a business – you’re just considered a ‘hobbyist’ if you make under five grand a year, so you don’t have to pay huge tax.

Anyways, I hope the little man gets better soon!

Leah xxx

Comment by Hyena In Petticoats

Cute cardi!!

Comment by Amy




Leave a Reply

