Toastandcupcakes.


July 8, 2008, 10:20 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hi, everyone.

I’ve spent the last wee while trying to decide what to do with this blog. I just can’t get into it. I’m not taking many photos at the moment (I didn’t even have any to put with this entry..) and while I’ve got a fair bit going on in my life, I don’t feel the need to blog in any detail about any of it. I’m too busy with ‘real life’, I guess.

It seems very final to delete my blog, but it’s also hard to justify keeping it when I’m paying for it each month and not using it. I’m struggling to decide what to do, but if my blog suddenly disappears you’ll know what’s happened. (And you can always keep up with me over at flickr, my username is wearmystuff.)

But yeah, basically I’ve got a lot going on right now.
Abraham and I have decided to get married! We’ve talked about it for awhile and have decided to just go ahead and do it this year, while my sister is home and everyone is in one place. Things have been going so, so well for us that it really feels like the right time to do it and we’re so very happy!
So mostly I’m busy planning our wedding, which will be on the 13th of Dec. We’re keeping it very low-key and obviously we have a very minimal budget so I’m busy pulling in as many favours as I can, and trying to source everything we need at the lowest price possible. It’ll all come together but it’s a bit of a stress-out at the moment.
I’m also starting a new job. I left the job at the cafe because it was just getting far too hard to get all the way out there now that Winter is upon us. So I’ve found a job in a little kitchen goods/ gift shop in town. The shop is really beautiful, very expensive and lovely. I start next week and I’m freaking out a little about what I’m going to wear. I have to dress ‘tidy’ and cover my tattoos, and as most of you know my style tends more towards crazy than tidy, and my tattoos are nearly always on show. I’ll find something though.

What else is new? Abraham’s new job is going well, he’s finding it a bit of a challenge, but that’s a good thing I think.
Aesop is Aesop. Cheeky as, very argumentative at the moment and unfortunately is having a hard time with toilet training. He just can’t get the hang of telling someone when he needs to go, but rather wiggles and jiggles and holds on (even telling us he doesn’t need to go..) until the very last minute, causing quite a few accidents. But I’m sure this phase will pass.
I’ve started a radio show on the local alternative station. Toast on Tuesdays. Unfortunately the station is only accessible in Whakatane but if anyone is interested I can post the first two shows for download. It’s mostly indie, folky music with a few good old songs thrown in for good measure. Very mellow tuesday morning music.

I think that’s about all for now. I’m not going to promise any updates, but I’ll see how I go. I hope you’re all keeping well. x

20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

post the shows!! post the shows!!

Comment by Amy

why dont you get a free blog

oh my goodness CONGRATULATIONS to you both

all the best for your new job

pleased Abraham’s new job is going well 🙂

Ive given up the tiolet training over the winter and I am sure that when he try come summer time again Our Little Man will be better at it – hope so anyway – and hell be 3 by then 🙂

Ooooooooo yes please Id love to be able to hear your radio show

stay in touch
HUGS
Jen

Comment by jen

Good to hear life is keeping you busy! Best wishes on your coming wedding!

It would be awesome to hear this radio show!!! POST IT PLEASE!!!

Don’t let potty training get you down, I’ve been washing sheets daily these days ugh….it will all come in time

xoxox-
Jess

Comment by jessica

Hi there – I come here all the time from Stripy Sock Studio and love your work. I agree – if you want to continue then get a free blog. I’d miss seeing what you’re up to because your life is really interesting.

Comment by Emma McCleary

Jeei! ik ben heel heel blij voor jou en abraham! ik hoop veel liefde voor jullie twee!

tildas “toilet training” gaat precies zo als aesops. wat goed om te weten dat iemand anders er ook zit op dit moment ;). heh!

kussen voor de liefste meisje! ik hoop toch dat ik soms iets van je leven en denken kan horen, als niet op de blog, wil ik well wat emails probieren schrijven :).

anuriitta*

Comment by anuriitta

I’m glad things are going well for you in your ‘real life’ and will miss your posts if you stop them. It’s refreshing to read such an open, honest blog and i hope you drop in again from time to time.

Congrats on your wedding plans and good luck with everything.
xx Jasmine
PS. I gave up on the toilet training too as the weather got cold and a newborn arrived. Will give it a go again in the spring. In the meantime am changing umpteen nappies a day!

Comment by jasmine

hey i totally understand. Ever thought of moving over to a free blog site (like blogger) and just posting whenever you feel like it? just a thought (i don’t want to loose you but I understand)

Hey I know exactly what you mean about the struggle to look tidy for a job when its not really your style. my problem was never my tattoos (I have none) but something just as hard if not harder to conceal, my wild child blonde hair. It won’t be straight, it won’t be curly, it is too thick to wear up all day. arch. anyway clothes wise, be inspired by vintage looks which are tidy yet alternative and sexy. I love the secretaries of the 1930s and the old school librarian look. I think tweed pencil skirts and blouses and cardigans, coloured stockings would be so charming and yet professional looking. If you embrace dressing up, I think you could have a lot of fun! okay I will stop dispensing fashion advice now 🙂

I really hope you have a great time in your new job and congrats you two on the wedding.:)

and boys are always hard to toilet train, so take heart. and don’t feel bad if you have to resort to crazy amounts of bribery. family i used to nanny for bought their son a imported ride on john deer quad bike to help him stop messing himself. and it worked! no poo pants!

oh gosh, I have taken your blog hostage with my essay of a comment here. sorry!

xoxox

Comment by kimberlee

hey i totally understand. Ever thought of moving over to a free blog site (like blogger) and just posting whenever you feel like it? just a thought (i don’t want to loose you but I understand)

Hey I know exactly what you mean about the struggle to look tidy for a job when its not really your style. my problem was never my tattoos (I have none) but something just as hard if not harder to conceal, my wild child blonde hair. It won’t be straight, it won’t be curly, it is too thick to wear up all day. arch. anyway clothes wise, be inspired by vintage looks which are tidy yet alternative and sexy. I love the secretaries of the 1930s and the old school librarian look. I think tweed pencil skirts and blouses and cardigans, coloured stockings would be so charming and yet professional looking. If you embrace dressing up, I think you could have a lot of fun! okay I will stop dispensing fashion advice now 🙂

I really hope you have a great time in your new job and congrats you two on the wedding.:)

and boys are always hard to toilet train, so take heart. and don’t feel bad if you have to resort to crazy amounts of bribery. family i used to nanny for bought their son a imported ride on john deer quad bike to help him stop messing himself. and it worked! no poo pants!

oh gosh, I have taken your blog hostage with my essay of a comment here. sorry!

xoxox

Comment by kimberlee

hey i totally understand. Ever thought of moving over to a free blog site (like blogger) and just posting whenever you feel like it? just a thought (i don’t want to loose you but I understand)

Hey I know exactly what you mean about the struggle to look tidy for a job when its not really your style. my problem was never my tattoos (I have none) but something just as hard if not harder to conceal, my wild child blonde hair. It won’t be straight, it won’t be curly, it is too thick to wear up all day. arch. anyway clothes wise, be inspired by vintage looks which are tidy yet alternative and sexy. I love the secretaries of the 1930s and the old school librarian look. I think tweed pencil skirts and blouses and cardigans, coloured stockings would be so charming and yet professional looking. If you embrace dressing up, I think you could have a lot of fun! okay I will stop dispensing fashion advice now 🙂

I really hope you have a great time in your new job and congrats you two on the wedding.:)

and boys are always hard to toilet train, so take heart. and don’t feel bad if you have to resort to crazy amounts of bribery. family i used to nanny for bought their son a imported ride on john deer quad bike to help him stop messing himself. and it worked! no poo pants!

oh gosh, I have taken your blog hostage with my essay of a comment here. sorry!

xoxox

Comment by kimberlee

Hey Rhiannon, thanks for the post! Radio sounds cool, i’d love to hear but sadly we are still in the dark ages with dial up and i suspect it would take forever to download. The free blog sounds like a good idea… you could put the money towards your wedding then! Best wishes for the new job, sounds fab.

Comment by kirsty

Congrats on your upcoming wedding! You’ll know in your heart what is the right choice for your blog.

Comment by Nichola

Congratulations! Sounds like life is good in your neck of the woods 🙂

Comment by kielz

That’s so cool that you’re getting married. Yay!

My wee boy took a year to toilet train. Yip. A year. My wee girl took 3 days. So there you go. Just depends on the personality and the child.

I would miss your blog a lot, but you gotta do what’s right for you. And I would love to hear your radio show.

By the way, I love the fashion advice listed above. I can now rename the style I called “granny chic” as “1930s sexy secretary”. I like that a lot better.

Comment by Miss Smith

I want to hear your show!!
I love you!

Comment by rachel rachel rabbity

Will miss your blog – my sister and I spent ages trying to work out who was our hot twin after your blog post (results? “Thelma” off the scooby doo show and “Bjork” respectively) Best wishes for happy nuptials – sure to be a styley event!!

Comment by Mary Nanna

I have been debating the same thing! Really I have written and rewritten what you just said about your blog in my head for the last couple weeks. I don’t want to just *poof* disappear and delete my whole blog, but it adds up every month and I really don’t use it much anymore. Life is crazy enough to decide what I want to post, filter it for blogland, and make time to post.

Congratulation to you and Abraham! I am very happy for you both and it sounds like life is pretty good, no doubt it is never easy (good luck with the potty training)!

Comment by Kara

Wat leuk!!! Gefeliciteerd! Het wordt vast een hele mooie wedding! Succes met de planning! 🙂
liefs, Jannie

Comment by Jannie

I don’t know if this would interest you or not, but…

http://lisaquilts.blogspot.com/2008/07/tremendous-honour.html

🙂
Lisa

Comment by lisa

Congratulations on the wedding! That is very exciting. Oh, and the new job sounds fun too. Though I don’t always comment, I do look forward to your posts. But I totally understand how the blogging thing can become a bit of a burden. I echo some of the other suggestions of maybe shifting to a free blog host. Would love to hear your radio show, so please post a link 🙂

Comment by Louise

Oh no..I just found your blog and you’re thinking about deleting it? I’ve just spent the last hour riveted- celebrating your victories and mourning your losses as if they were my own!!! 🙂 You’re doing a great job and your sewing is awesome. Please please please jump over to a free one, WordPress will even import all your posts from your old blog….

Comment by Rebecca




Leave a Reply

